Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The 2001 Miami Hurricanes

Exactly ten years ago (what seems like ten lonnnng years), arguably the greatest college football team ever to be assembled trounced Nebraska in the 2002 Rose Bowl.  We may never see a team like that again.

The 2001 team would finish the season 12-0, after beating Nebraska 37-14, resulting in Miami winning their fifth National Title.  They were filled with future Pro-Bowlers and Hall of Famers, including: Clinton Portis, Willis McGahee, Jeremy Shockey, Andre Johnson, Vince Wilfork, Jon Vilma, Bryant McKinnie, Ed Reed, Kellen Winslow Jr., and one of the greatest safeties to EVER play the game, Sean Taylor. 

They had six players named First Team All-Americans.  Larry Coker won the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award; Ken Dorsey won the Maxwell Award; and Bryant McKinnie won the Outland Trophy.

They were responsible for ten, I say TEN, first round NFL draft selections.  The 2001 'Canes scored a total of 512 points and beat opponents by 33 points a game.  They outscored ranked teams 124-7. 

Forget the 2005 USC Trojans, they couldn't hold a candle to this team. 

In honor of the greatest team to ever take the field, CaneFreak2001 gives you the 2002 Rose Bowl game.